Die Zukunft muss von uns gestaltet werden.

Regierungen, Sicherheitsbehörden und Unternehmen können und werden Gesichtserkennung gegen jede:n von uns einsetzen - basierend darauf wer wir sind und wie wir aussehen.

Fordere unseren öffentlichen Raum zurück. Die Lösung: Ein Verbot biometrischer Massenüberwachung!



Unterschreibe die Petition für ein neues Gesetz

56.271 haben bereits unterschrieben. Hilf uns 1 Million zu werden!
Die EU hat die Möglichkeit, diese übergriffigen Methoden zu stoppen.

European Citizens' Initiative

Reclaim your Face


Warum fragen wir nach all diesen persönlichen Daten?
Dies ist keine einfache Petition, sondern eine offizielle "Europäische Bürgerinitiative" (EBI). Das bedeutet, dass Ihre Unterschrift von den nationalen Behörden überprüft werden muss, gemäß den spezifischen Regeln jedes EU-Landes. Wir haben keinen Einluss darauf, welche Daten erhoben werden müssen. Die Verordnung (EU) 2019/788 über die Europäische Bürgerinitiative regelt, welche Daten zum Zweck der Bestätigung Ihrer Unterschrift verlangt werden müssen. Wir können Sie nur kontaktieren und über Neuigkeiten dieser Initiative informieren, wenn Sie sich in Schritt 2 dazu entscheiden, Kontaktdaten zur Verfügung zu stellen. Darüber hinaus wurde unser ECI-Signatursammelsystem vom Bundesamt für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik (BSI) geprüft um sicherzustellen, dass es konform mit der EBI-Verordnung der EU ist. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf unserer Seite "Warum eine EBI?" und in unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen unter.
Haben Sie die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft und leben außerhalb der EU?
Sie können unsere Europäische Bürgerinitiative auch unterschreiben, wenn Sie außerhalb der EU leben. Nach den deutschen Vorschriften ist Ihre Unterschrift jedoch nur gültig, wenn Sie mit Ihrem derzeitigen ständigen Wohnsitz bei der zuständigen deutschen diplomatischen Vertretung registriert sind. Wenn Sie nicht registriert sind, dann wird Ihre Unterschrift leider nicht gezählt. Weitere Informationen zu den Regeln können Sie hier einsehen. Diese Regelung gilt nicht für Bürger:innen anderer EU-Länder.


Was ist das?


Biometrische Daten enthalten sensible Informationen über unseren Körper und unser individuelles Verhalten. So wird zum Beispiel unser Gesicht ausgemessen und abgespeichert, um uns in einer Menge von Menschen identifizieren zu können. Biometrische Überwachungsmaßnahmen betreffen allerdings nicht nur unser Gesicht, sie umfassen auch unsere Augen, Venen, Stimmen, die Art wie wir Gehen oder auf einer Tastatur tippen und viele weitere Merkmale.

Regierungen, die Polizei und Unternehmen nutzen Überwachungskameras in Verbindung mit Gesichtserkennungssoftware, um biometrische Daten über uns zu sammeln. So können sie uns jederzeit anhand unserer individuellen körperlichen Merkmale in der Öffentlichkeit identifizieren. Diese flächendeckende Erfassung von biometrischen Daten aller Menschen im öffentlichen Raum wie auf Straßen, in Parks, Bahnhöfen, Geschäften oder Sportstätten, nur weil wir versuchen, unser Leben zu leben, ist biometrische Massenüberwachung. Wir werden zu laufenden Barcodes gemacht.

Soll ein Arbeitgeber deine Mimik und Gestik nutzen dürfen, um zu entscheiden, ob du für einen Job geeignet bist?
Wir wollen, dass du von deinem Arbeitgebenden aufgrund deiner Arbeit bewertet wirst und nicht auf Basis von äußerlichen Merkmalen.
Soll die Polizei dich wegen deiner Art zu Gehen auf eine Liste verdächtiger Personen setzen dürfen?
Wir erwarten von der Polizei einen respektvollen und fairen Umgang und wollen nicht wie Verdächtige behandelt werden.
Soll ein Onlineshop dir ausschließlich basierend auf seiner Annahme deines Geschlechts oder deiner ethnischen Zugehörigkeit Produkte empfehlen?
Wir wollen, dass wir die freie Wahl haben, was wir kaufen und nicht von großen Unternehmen manipuliert oder diskriminiert werden.
Soll ein Krankenhaus dir verbieten können, Verwandte zu besuchen, nur weil du, als du jünger warst, an einer Demonstration teilgenommen hast?
Wir wollen, dass wir uns frei fühlen, uns frei bewegen und frei sprechen können. Wir möchten Ungerechtigkeiten aufzeigen können und uns nicht selbst einschränken müssen, weil wir uns permanent überwacht fühlen.
Soll dir deine Universität aufgrund der Leute, die du triffst, einen Platz in deinem präferierten Kurs verweigert dürfen?
Wir wollen unsere Ausbildung frei wählen können, unabhängig davon wo wir herkommen und wer unsere Freund:innen sind.
Soll deine Kfz-Versicherung wegen der Art und Weise wie du dich kleidest teurer werden dürfen?
Wir wollen die Kontrolle über unsere Daten zurück und damit verhindern, dass unsere Identitäten von großen Organisationen benutzt werden, um Geld damit zu machen.

Die Zukunft muss von uns gestaltet werden. Unser Leben muss von uns bestimmt werden.

Datenschutz ist Selbstbestimmung

Überwachung ist Geld

Fordere unsere Zukunft von der biometrischen Massenüberwachung zurück

In der heutigen Welt, wo wir alle ständig online sind, ist es notwendig, dass wir selbst darüber bestimmen, wann wir sensible Information teilen. Privatsphäre ist eine Grundvorausetzung, um unsere Freiheiten im öffentlichen Raum und Leben auszuleben: Das ist es, was uns ermöglicht, zusammenzukommen, unsere Meinung zum Ausdruck zu bringen und so zu leben, wie wir es wollen.
Unser Privatleben ist wichtig - deshalb teilen wir unsere Passwörter nicht mit anderen, schließen unsere Haustür ab und wählen lieber in einer Wahlkabine. Nur wenn wir auf private Informationen Acht geben, können wir verhindern, dass mächtige Regierungen sie nicht gegen uns verwenden oder dass Datenkonzerne sie nicht benutzen, um uns zu manipulieren. Privatsphäre gibt uns das Vertrauen zum Arzt zu gehen, uns frei zu entfalten und für Andere einzustehen, wenn sie ungerecht behandelt werden. Privatsphäre gibt uns die Freiheit, unsere Leben zu leben ohne das dauerhafte Gefühl, dass uns jemand über die Schulter schaut oder dass wir uns den Schubladen anderer anpassen müssen.
Die Polizei will so die Kosten senken. Politiker:innen manipulieren unsere Wahlentscheidung und bringen autoritäre Agenden voran. Datenkonzerne erzielen hohe Gewinne, indem sie Daten von uns sammeln und damit Handel treiben (bekannt als "Überwachungskapitalismus"). Sie arbeiten zusammen und verfolgen unsere Bewegungen in Klein- wie Großstädten.
Indem sie uns mit biometrischen Überwachungsmaßnahmen tracken, können sie unser Gesicht oder andere Teile unseres Körpers mit einem großen Berg an gespeicherten Informationen über uns in Verbindung bringen. In großen Datenbanken können unsere Interessen, Freizeitaktivitäten und persönliche Beziehungen mit Informationen über unser Gesicht, unserem Körper, wo wir hingehen und was wir dort tun, verknüpfen. Sie nehmen sich heraus daran schlussfolgen zu können, was wir denken und fühlen, und was wir als nächstes tun wollen. Und das, obwohl es keine wissenschaftliche Grundlage dafür gibt.
Wir konnten bereits sehen
Cambrigde Analytica beeinflusst Wählende in dem Veinigten Königreich und der USA. Friedlich Protestierende und Studierende wurden von illegalen Polizeidrohnen in Frankreich überwacht. Pendler:innen werden in Deutschland wie Verdächtige behandelt. Oppositionelle wurden in Hong Kong niedergeschlagen und zum Schweigen gebracht. People of Colour wurden fälschlicherweise in den USA verhaftet und dadurch traumatisiert. Bereits jetzt lässt sich erkennen, dass viel zu weit gegangen wurde- aber das können wir jetzt beenden.
Entscheidungen und Möglichkeiten über unsere Zukunft werden uns weggenommen, einfach weil wir sind, wer wir sind. Es ist jetzt an uns gegen die mächtigen Regierungen und Unternehmen vorzugehen und dafür zu sorgen, dass diese neuen Techniken für uns alle funktionieren und von Vorteil sind. Es ist wichtig, dass sie nicht den Machthabenden Kontrolle über uns geben und zu Gunsten von Profitgier eingesetzt werden.
Unter ständiger biometrischer Massenüberwachung werden unsere Gesichter und Körper den Manipulationen und dem Willen der Regierungen und Konzerne ausgesetzt. Wir werden aufgrund unseres Aussehens überwacht und bewertet​​​​​​​. Das ängstigt und besorgt uns, lässt uns weniger wohl und frei fühlen, wir selbst zu sein. Studien zeigen, dass wir anhand unserer zugeschriebenen Merkmale wie beispielsweise unserer ethnischer Zugehörigkeit, Alter und Geschlecht in Kategorien sortiert werden. Sie behaupten zu wissen, was wir tun und denken anhand der Art wie wir unsere Arme schwingen, wie unser Kopf geformt ist oder welchen Gesichtsausdruck wir gerade haben. Und wir wissen nicht einmal, dass diese unfairen und diskrimierenden Annahmen über uns getroffen werden. Diese sind dann dauerhaft mit unseren Gesichtern und Körpern verknüpft, wo auch immer wir uns aufhalten und hin bewegen.
Wenn du erst einmal überwacht und kategorisiert wirst, werden Entscheidungen über deine Zukunft von anderen gefällt
Es wird darüber bestimmt, welche Werbung dir auf einer "smarten" Werbetafel angezeigt wird oder nicht. Du könntest von der Polizei als Unruhestifter:in eingestuft werden und auf einer offiziellen Verdächtigenliste landen. Die Art wie du dich heute kleidest, wie du heute aussiehst oder dich verhältst, die Orte, die du heute aufsuchst und die Menschen, mit denen du dich heute umgibst, all das könnte morgen deine Karriere, deinen Bildungsweg oder deine Reisepläne behindern. Deine zukünftige Freiheit kann dir genommen werden einfach für das, was du heute bist.

Ein Verbot von biometrischer Massenüberwachung ist die einzige Lösung für eine Zukunft, in der unsere Entscheidungen von uns selbst getroffen werden und nicht von einem Algorithmus.

Wer hat welche Meinung zu biometrischer Massenüberwachung?



Jetzt gerade findet ein Umdenken statt. Die aktuellen Meldungen dazu findest du hier



Fordere eine Welt ein, in der DU die Person bist, die über deinen Lebensweg entscheidet.

ReclaimYourFace is a movement led by civil society organisations across Europe:

Access Now ARTICLE19 Bits of Freedom CCC Defesa dos Direitos Digitais (D3) Digitalcourage Digitale Gesellschaft CH Digitale Gesellschaft DE Državljan D EDRi Electronic Frontier Finland epicenter.works Hermes Center for Transparency and Digital Human Rights Homo Digitalis IT-Political Association of Denmark IuRe La Quadrature du Net Liberties Metamorphosis Foundation Panoptykon Foundation Privacy International SHARE Foundation
In collaboration with our campaign partners:

AlgorithmWatch AlgorithmWatch/CH All Out Amnesty International Associazione Luca Coscioni Ban Facial Recognition Europe Big Brother Watch Certi Diritti Chaos Computer Club Lëtzebuerg (C3L) CILD Digitale Freiheit D64 Datapanik Electronic Frontier Norway European Center for Not-for-profit Law (ECNL) European Digital Society Eumans Fundación Secretariado Gitano (FSG) Forum InformatikerInnen für Frieden und gesellschaftliche Verantwortung Germanwatch Gesellschaft Fur Informatik (German Informatics Society) Hellenic Association of Data Protection and Privacy Hellenic League for Human Rights info.nodes Kameras Stoppen Ligue des droits de L'Homme (FR) Ligue des Droits Humains (BE) LOAD e.V. Ministry of Privacy Privacy Network Projetto Winston Smith Reporters United Science for Democracy Selbstbestimmt.Digital STRALI Stop Wapenhandel The Good Lobby Italia UNI-Europa Xnet


Reclaim Your Face is supported by:

Jusos Pirátská Strana

MEP Patrick Breyer, Germany, Greens/EFA
MEP Marcel Kolaja, Czechia, Greens/EFA
MEP Anne-Sophie Pelletier, France, The Left



Should your organisation be here, too?
Here's how you can get involved.
If you're an individual rather than an organisation, or your organisation type isn't covered in the partnering document, please get in touch with us directly.

The future must be ours to shape.

Facial recognition can and will be used against each of us by governments and corporations - based on who we are and what we look like.

Reclaim our public space. Ban biometric mass surveillance!



Sign the petition for a new law now

64,242 have already signed. Help us get to 1 million!
The EU has the power to end these abusive practices.

European Citizen's Initiative

Reclaim your Face


Why are we asking for your personal data to sign the ECI petition?
This is not a regular petition, but an official "European Citizens' Initiative" (ECI). This means your signature must be officially verified by national authorities, according to each EU country's specific rules. We cannot control the data that they require, since it is required by Regulation (EU) 2019/788 on the European citizens’ initiative for the purpose of confirming your signature. We can only use the information that you provide in Step 2 to contact you with updates, if you choose to enter it. Furthermore, our ECI signature collection system has been verified by the German Federal Information Security Office (BSI) to ensure it is compliant with the EU's Regulation on ECIs. Please see our "Why ECI?" page for further details, and check out our privacy policy.
Who can sign this ECI petition?
This ECI is open to all EU citizens, even if you currently live outside the EU (although there are special rules for Germany). Unfortunately if you are not an EU national, the EU's official rules say that you cannot sign. Check back soon for other ways than non-EU citizens can help the cause.
Are you a German citizen living outside of the EU?
It is possible to sign our ECI petition if you live outside the EU, but German rules mean that for German citizens specifically, your signature will only be valid if you are registered with your current permanent residence at the relevant German diplomatic representation. If you are not registered, then unfortunately your signature will not be counted. You can read more information about the rules. This rule does not apply to citizens of any other EU country.
Can I sign on paper?
If you cannot sign via the secure online form on this page, you can now sign the ECI on paper and return it to us via email or post instead.
At various times throughout the campaign, we will also be collecting signatures on paper, in person, in line with the relevant national COVID-19 rules.


What is it?


Biometric data are bits of data that are unique to our bodies and behaviours, which divulge sensitive information about who we are. For example, our faces can be used for facial recognition to make a prediction or assessment about us – and so can our eyes, veins, voices, the way we walk or type on a keyboard, and much more.

Governments, police forces and corporations use recording devices (like CCTV cameras) and facial recognition software to gather our biometric data. This means they can track us from one place to another using our unique characteristics to permanently identify each of us. This blanket capture of every person’s biometric data in public spaces like streets, parks, train stations, shops or sports venues simply for trying to live our lives is biometric mass surveillance. It treats us all as walking barcodes.

Should an employer use your facial expressions to decide if you’re fit for a job?
We want to be treated by our employer based on our work, not our face or body.
Should the police put you on a list of suspicious people based on the way you walk?
We want the police to treat us with decency and respect, not as criminal suspects.
Should a shop only show you products based on their assumption of your gender or ethnicity?
We want to have have choice over what we buy, not be manipulated or discriminated against by big businesses.
Should a hospital refuse to let you visit a relative because you went to a protest when you were younger?
We want to be able to speak freely and document injustice, not to self-censor because we are constantly watched.
Should a university deny you a place on your favourite course because of the people you meet up with?
We want to choose our education freely, regardless of where we come from or who our friends are.
Should your car insurance increase your premium because of the way you dress?
We want to have control over our data, not to be exploited by corporations abusing our identities to make money.

The future must be ours to shape. Our lives must be ours to decide.

Privacy is power

Surveillance is money

Reclaiming our futures

In today’s world of always being “on”, the power to decide when we do and when we don’t share our sensitive information is vital. Our privacy is a condition for enjoying our freedoms in public spaces and public life: it’s what gives us the ability to join together, raise our voices and live as we choose.
Our personal lives matter – that’s why we don’t share our email passwords, leave our front doors unlocked, or why we get to vote behind a screen. It allows us to make sure that powerful governments don’t use our data to target us or that powerful corporations do not manipulate our preferences. Privacy gives us the confidence to go to the doctor, to express who we are proudly, or to speak up boldly and take action when someone is being treated unfairly. The freedoms that come with privacy help us go about our lives without constantly having to look over our shoulder, or feeling that we have to conform to someone else’s labels.
Police forces trying to cut corners. Politicians manipulating our votes to push authoritarian agendas. Corporations making huge sums of money from watching us (often known as “surveillance capitalism”). They are working together to follow us as we move about in our towns and cities.
By tracking us through biometric surveillance, these powerful actors can instantly match our face – or other body parts – to massive amounts of information about us. Huge databases about our interests, activities and personal networks can be combined with new information about our faces, bodies, where we go and what we do. From this, they claim to know what we are thinking, how we are feeling or what we might be about to do next – even though there is no reliable scientific basis for this.
We've seen it already
Cambridge Analytica suppressing voters in the UK and US. Peaceful protesters and students monitored with illegal police drones in France. Commuters treated as suspects in Germany. Political opponents attacked and silenced in Honk Kong. People of colour traumatically falsely arrested in the US. It’s gone too far already - but we can put a stop to it now.
Choices and opportunities about our futures will be taken away from us simply for being who we are. We must fight back against the powerful governments and corporations and make sure that technology truly works for all of us; not for the greed, and control of the powerful few.
Under constant biometric mass surveillance, our faces and bodies expose us to the manipulation and impulses of authorities and companies. We are watched and judged based on how we look. We become anxious, less comfortable and less free to be ourselves. Evidence shows that they put us into boxes based on how they perceive our ethnicity, our gender, our age and more. They claim to know what we are doing or thinking by how we swing our arms, the shape of our head or the look on our face. We don’t even know that these unfair and often discriminatory assumptions are being made about us.Yet they will be permanently linked to our faces and our bodies, forever, wherever we go.
Once you are watched and categorised like this, your future can be decided for you
It will dictate the adverts that you will you see or not see on a “smart” billboard. You could be considered a trouble-maker in the eyes (and the official watch-lists) of the police. The way you dress, look or act today, the places you go to and the people you associate with, could become a barrier for employment, education or travel tomorrow. Your future freedom can be taken away simply for being who you are.

A ban on biometric mass surveillance is the only solution for a future where our choices are made by us, not by algorithms.

Who’s saying what about biometric mass surveillance?



Change is happening. Follow the latest news here



RECLAIM A WORLD IN WHICH YOU ARE THE ONLY ONE THAT DECIDES WHICH PATH YOU TAKE

ReclaimYourFace is a movement led by civil society organisations across Europe:

Access Now ARTICLE19 Bits of Freedom CCC Defesa dos Direitos Digitais (D3) Digitalcourage Digitale Gesellschaft CH Digitale Gesellschaft DE Državljan D EDRi Electronic Frontier Finland epicenter.works Hermes Center for Transparency and Digital Human Rights Homo Digitalis IT-Political Association of Denmark IuRe La Quadrature du Net Liberties Metamorphosis Foundation Panoptykon Foundation Privacy International SHARE Foundation
In collaboration with our campaign partners:

AlgorithmWatch AlgorithmWatch/CH All Out Amnesty International Anna Elbe Aquilenet Associazione Luca Coscioni Ban Facial Recognition Europe Big Brother Watch Certi Diritti Chaos Computer Club Lëtzebuerg (C3L) CILD Digitale Freiheit D64 Datapanik Electronic Frontier Norway European Center for Not-for-profit Law (ECNL) European Digital Society Eumans Fundación Secretariado Gitano (FSG) Forum InformatikerInnen für Frieden und gesellschaftliche Verantwortung Germanwatch German acm chapter Gesellschaft Fur Informatik (German Informatics Society) GONG Hellenic Association of Data Protection and Privacy Hellenic League for Human Rights info.nodes Kameras Stoppen Ligue des droits de L'Homme (FR) Ligue des Droits Humains (BE) LOAD e.V. Ministry of Privacy Privacy Network Projetto Winston Smith Reporters United Science for Democracy Selbstbestimmt.Digital STRALI Stop Wapenhandel The Good Lobby Italia UNI-Europa Xnet


Reclaim Your Face is also supported by:

Jusos Piratenpartei DE Pirátská Strana

MEP Patrick Breyer, Germany, Greens/EFA
MEP Marcel Kolaja, Czechia, Greens/EFA
MEP Anne-Sophie Pelletier, France, The Left
MEP Kateřina Konečná, Czechia, The Left



Should your organisation be here, too?
Here's how you can get involved.
If you're an individual rather than an organisation, or your organisation type isn't covered in the partnering document, please get in touch with us directly.